PLAY Groups

Connecting physical literacy champions across Alberta

Communities across Alberta are forming regional Physical Literacy And You (PLAY) groups where professionals and volunteers from health, education, recreation and sport are working together to support physical literacy in their community.

The mission is clear: to work together across sectors such as recreation, education, sport and health to promote, implement, and evaluate programs, services, amenities and policies, which increase the physical literacy and physical activity levels in our communities.

Be Fit For Life Centres have supported the growth of PLAY groups in Alberta by taking on leadership roles in the formation of regional PLAY Groups. The power of our participation in the broader network is that we synthesize the experiences of agencies and organizations and curate best practices to be shared.

Introducing PLconnect.ca

Another way to stay connected: Join the PLAY Alberta Facebook page to learn more about what’s happening with physical literacy in communities across Alberta.

Advancing Physical Literacy in Alberta

In March of 2016, many partners invested in physical literacy development in Alberta met and outlined activation areas, priorities, next steps and commitments for the upcoming year. Awareness, resources & tools, education & training, meaningful measurement & research, systemic change, and collective leadership were all identified as activation areas. PLAY Groups continue to play an important role in awareness, communication and collaborative leadership. Click here to see the full summary poster.

Alberta PLAY Groups

PLAY Calgary

Ashley Fox, Be Fit for Life Calgary

ashley.fox@ucalgary.ca

PLAY Canmore

(Coming Soon!)

PLAY Central

Barb Marsh, Be Fit For Life - Red Deer College

barb.marsh@rdc.ab.ca

PLAY Cochrane

Tracy Brooker, Town of Cochrane

Tracy.Brooker@cochrane.ca

PLAY GREAT

Gary Shelton, Edmonton Sport Council & Lindsay Wright, Be Fit For Life

gshelton@edmontonsport.com, lindsay.wright@ualberta.ca

PLAY Fort McMurray

Keegan Kuhr, Be Fit for Life - Keyano College

keegan.kuhr@keyano.ca

PLAY Grande Prairie

Jodi Minton, Grande Prairie Be Fit for Life Centre

jminton@gprc.ab.ca

PLAY Lac La Biche

Deborah Menard, Be Fit for Life - Portage College

deb.menard@portagecollege.ca

PLAY Lethbridge

Susan Eymann, Lethbridge Sport Council

susan@lethbridgesportcouncil.ca

PLAY Medicine Hat

Kayla Hammel, Be Fit for Life

hammel@mhc.ab.ca

PLAY Parkland

Felicia Ochs, Parkland School Division

FMOchs@psd70.ab.ca

Vermilion Wellness Coalition - PLAY

Curtis Gorkoff, Be Fit For Life

curtis.gorkoff@lakelandcollege.ca

PLAY West Country (Rocky Mountain House)

Lori Davis, Physical Literacy and Sport for Life Leader

westcountryplay@gmail.com